the advocacy monitor

Independent Living News & Policy from the National Council on Independent Living

Florida Association of Centers for Independent Living Media Advisory: Hurricane Michael Tele-Press Conference

  • What: There’s No Place Like Home Tele-Press Conference
  • Who: Disaster Survivors, Disability Leaders, and Community Allies
  • When: Friday, November 2nd 3:00 pm EST / 2:00 pm CST
  • Access: This event is open to the press.
  • Call number: 1-641-715-3580
  • Access Code: 996329#
  • Access Captioning

Disaster Survivors, Disability Leaders, and Community Allies across Florida and the nation will participate in a Tele-Press Conference Friday, November 2nd at 3:00 EST / 2:00 CST to tell Governor Scott, FEMA, and our elected officials “There’s No Place Like Home” for tens of thousands of Floridians with disabilities still displaced by Hurricane Michael.

Speakers will share their stories about the immediate and long-term crisis facing thousands of displaced Floridians with disabilities. These families have nowhere to live and no good options for their recovery. They will speak about violations of the rights of Floridians with disabilities, make recommendations for action, and call for immediate help from Governor Rick Scott, FEMA, Senators Bill Nelson and Marco Rubio, our Representatives in Congress, and the State of Florida’s Legislature to tell us what they are doing to comply with civil rights obligations and immediately meet the disability related equal access rights and needs of disaster survivors without further delay.

Please direct questions to: Beth Meyer, Executive Director, Florida Independent Living Council, 850-488-5624.

Speak Your Mind

*