the advocacy monitor

Independent Living News & Policy from the National Council on Independent Living

House Vote on American Health Care Act Happening Today! Take Action!

The House is voting today on the American Health Care Act (AHCA), which repeals key pieces of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and makes major cuts to Medicaid. Their goal is to pass the bill by 5:00 p.m. today! Watch the livestream.

Take Action!

Last minute changes were made to the bill to get more Republicans on board, one of which was an amendment to repeal the ten Essential Health Benefits. This is on top of earlier changes to allow a block grant option for Medicaid and Medicaid work requirements. Our best strategy right now is to reach out to the moderate Republicans in the House and tell them to vote NO on this terrible bill! Please see the list below of members who absolutely must hear from their constituents NOW. If your member is not on the list, call them anyway!


Earlier this week, House Republicans released an updated version of the American Health Care Act in the form of a manager’s amendment. This amendment allows states to choose a Medicaid block grant for their “traditional populations,” sunset Medicaid expansion this year, impose Medicaid work requirements on non-disabled beneficiaries, and it moved up the date of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) tax repeals.

These changes were intended to address some of the bill’s criticisms, but they didn’t do anything to increase access or affordability of coverage, and they also didn’t appease many House Republicans who still opposed the bill. Last night, additional amendments were introduced as a last-ditch effort to get more members on board, including an amendment to repeal the ten Essential Health Benefits.

These changes do nothing to remedy the harm the AHCA will cause, and in fact they actually further the risks to the disability community. Keep contacting your members of Congress. Your efforts are needed more than ever! 

Priority Moderate Republicans:

  • NV-02: Mark Amodei
  • CO-06: Mike Coffman
  • VA-10: Barbara Comstock
  • PA-06: Ryan Costello
  • CA-08: Paul Cook
  • FL-26: Carlos Curbelo
  • CA-10: Jeff Denham
  • PA-15: Charlie Dent
  • NY-11: Dan Donovan
  • FL-25: Mario Diaz-Balart
  • WA-03: Jaime Herrera Beutler
  • CA-49: Darrell Issa
  • OH-06: Bill Johnson
  • NY-24: John Katko
  • NY-02: Peter King
  • CA-25: Steve Knight
  • NJ-07: Leonard Lance
  • OH-05: Bob Latta
  • NJ-02: Frank LoBiondo
  • FL-18: Brian Mast
  • AZ-02: Martha McSally
  • PA-07: Pat Meehan
  • ME-02: Bruce Poloquin
  • OH-16: Jim Renacci
  • FL-27: Ileana Ros-Lehtinen
  • NJ-04: Chris Smith
  • VA-02: Scott Taylor
  • OH-12: Pat Tiberi
  • CA-21: David Valadao
  • AK-AL: Don Young
  • IA-03: David Young
  • NY-01: Lee Zeldin

Speak Your Mind