the advocacy monitor

Independent Living News & Policy from the National Council on Independent Living

Markup Tomorrow: Call House Judiciary Members to Oppose H.R. 620!

Congress has introduced several ADA Notification bills this year, and one that’s been gaining a lot of traction is H.R. 620, the ADA Education and Reform Act of 2017. H.R. 620 is a terrible bill that would weaken the protections afforded people with disabilities under the Americans with Disabilities Act. This would be a major setback for our community!

The House Judiciary Committee will be holding a full committee markup tomorrow, Thursday September 7. Please take action! We need everyone to contact House Judiciary Committee members, listed below, and urge them to vote NO on this appalling bill. If you are near the DC area, we also encourage you to join NCIL staff at this markup in room 2141 of the Rayburn House Office Building.

This bill, as with other ADA Notification bills, would create significant additional obstacles for people with disabilities to enforce our rights under the ADA. Having just passed the 27th anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act, this is simply unacceptable. Please contact these Representatives today!

For more information H.R. 620, see our April alert, CCD’s Letter of Opposition, and the Oppose ADA Notification Facebook page.

NCIL logo - National Council on Independent LivingHouse Judiciary Committee Members


  • Bob Goodlatte, Chair (VA)
  • Jim Sensenbrenner (WI)
  • Lamar Smith (TX)
  • Steve Chabot (OH)
  • Darrell Issa (CA)
  • Steve King (IA)
  • Trent Franks (AZ)
  • Louie Gohmert (TX)
  • Jim Jordan (OH)
  • Ted Poe (TX) * Bill sponsor
  • Tom Marino (PA)
  • Trey Gowdy (SC)
  • Raul Labrador (ID)
  • Blake Farenthold (TX)
  • Doug Collins (GA)
  • Ron DeSantis (FL)
  • Ken Buck (CO)
  • John Ratcliffe (TX)
  • Martha Roby (AL)
  • Matt Gaetz (FL)
  • Mike Johnson (LA)
  • Andy Biggs (AZ)
  • John Rutherford (FL)
  • Karen Handel (GA)


  • John Conyers, Ranking Member (MI)
  • Jerry Nadler (NY)
  • Zoe Lofgren (CA)
  • Sheila Jackson Lee (TX)
  • Steve Cohen (TN)
  • Hank Johnson, Jr. (GA)
  • Ted Deutch (FL)
  • Luis Gutierrez (IL)
  • Karen Bass (CA)
  • Cedric Richmond (LA)
  • Hakeem Jeffries (NY)
  • David Cicilline (RI)
  • Eric Swalwell (CA)
  • Ted Lieu (CA)
  • Jamie Raskin (MD)
  • Pramila Jayapal (WA)
  • Brad Schneider (IL)

Speak Your Mind