the advocacy monitor

Independent Living News & Policy from the National Council on Independent Living

National Council on Disability Quarterly Meeting: February 23-24; Detroit, MI

Overview: The National Council on Disability (NCD), an independent federal agency, will hold its next quarterly meeting in Detroit, Michigan on February 23-24. Interested parties are encouraged to join in person, or by phone in a listening-only capacity (other than during the public comment sessions as noted below).


  • Thursday, February 23, 2017; 9:00 AM Eastern, 8:00 AM Central, 7:00 AM Mountain, 6:00 AM Pacific
  • Friday, February 24, 2017; 9:00 AM Eastern, 8:00 AM Central, 7:00 AM Mountain, 6:00 AM Pacific

Location: The Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, 400 Renaissance Drive, Detroit, MI 48243. 

Call-In Information:

  • Teleconference number: 888-417-8525
  • Conference ID: 9110702
  • Conference Title: NCD Meeting
  • Host Name: Clyde Terry

Accommodations: A CART streamtext link has been arranged for this meeting. The web link to access CART on for both days is: In addition to comments provided during the quarterly meeting, public comments can be sent to at any time.

Public Comment Sessions: NCD will conduct three public comment periods during the meeting on Thursday, February 23. To provide public comment, individuals are encouraged to call-in during the following times:

Topic: Education and Mental Health
Time: 11:15 to 11:45 am EST

Topic: Economic Mobility Gridlock: Systemic Challenges, Incompatibilities and Contradictions
Time: 2-2:30 pm EST

Topic: Getting People with Disabilities Out of Poverty
Time: 3:45 – 4:15 pm

Registration: To offer public comment at the February 2017 quarterly meeting, your registration must be received by close of business on Tuesday, February 21, 2017. Due to time constraints, comments must be limited to three minutes. In addition to comments provided by phone, comments received via email—including comments by those who cannot participate in the teleconference—will be shared with council members following the meeting.

To register to provide public comment at the February 2017 quarterly meeting of the National Council on Disability, please send an email to with the subject line “Public Comment” with the following information included in the body of the email message:

  1. Name
  2. Organization
  3. City, State, and;
  4. Topic or issues being addressed

For more information, please contact Anne Sommers, NCD, 1331 F Street NW., Suite 850, Washington, DC 20004; 202-272-2004 (V), 202-272-2074 (TTY) or write:

Speak Your Mind