the advocacy monitor

Independent Living News & Policy from the National Council on Independent Living

Save the ADA – H.R. 620 to Be Voted on This Thursday!

The House of Representatives is planning to vote on the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Education and Reform Act (H.R. 620) this Thursday, February 15!

Take Action Now!

Contact your Representative today and urge them to vote NO on H.R. 620. All Representatives can be reached through the U.S. Capitol Switchboard at (202) 224-3121 or (202) 224-3091 (TTY). You can find additional contact information and direct numbers at You can also use Resistbot to turn texts into faxes, mail, or hand-delivered letters, fax your members of Congress (use to find their fax number), or contact your Representative on social media with contact information from Contacting Congress.

NCIL logo - National Council on Independent LivingKeep your message simple. Use the background information below to discuss the dangers of this bill, and share your personal stories about how the ADA provides you greater access to your community! And, let them know that their disabled constituents will be watching how they vote and will hold them accountable!

Note: All Representatives need to hear from us, but we have included a list of particularly important targets below.

Background Information

H.R. 620 would create additional barriers to seeing our rights enforced under the ADA and make it harder to participate in mainstream society. Importantly, H.R. 620 would not solve the problems it claims to address. It would not stop fraudulent lawsuits or demand letters, but it would weaken the civil rights of people with disabilities! Moreover, it would eliminate any reason for businesses to comply with the ADA unless they receive a legal notice first. 

You can find additional information by looking at the following resources:

Priority Targets

Reminder: all Representatives need to hear from us, but the Representatives listed below are especially urgent targets.

State delegations:

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Illinois
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • Oregon
  • Texas

Specific members:

Alabama: Terri Sewell (Cosponsor)

Arizona: Kyrsten Sinema (Cosponsor)


  • Pete Aguilar (Cosponsor)
  • Ami Bera (Cosponsor)
  • Luis Correa (Cosponsor)
  • Jim Costa (Cosponsor)
  • Zoe Lofgren
  • Scott Peters (Cosponsor)
  • Jackie Speier (Cosponsor)

Colorado: Jared Polis

Florida: Stephanie Murphy

Illinois: Bill Foster (Cosponsor)

Nevada: Jacky Rosen

New Mexico: Collin Peterson

New York: Kathleen Rice (Cosponsor)

Oregon: Kurt Schrader


  • Mike Doyle
  • Dwight Evans

Texas: Henry Cuellar (Cosponsor)

Speak Your Mind