the advocacy monitor

Independent Living News & Policy from the National Council on Independent Living

Urgent Action Alert: Gregoire to Announce Her Decision on MR v Dreyfus Today

Institutionalization Is No Way to Live 2011 protest signGovernor Gregoire (D) of Washington State will be announcing whether she is appealing MR v Dreyfus to the Supreme Court today, October 22, 2012.

1. Take Action and Call Governor Gregoire!

  • Call Governor Gregoire’s office at 360-902-4111 starting at Noon Eastern / 11:00 a.m. Central / 10:00 a.m. Mountain / 9:00 a.m. Pacific.
  • Say: “Make the right decision.  Don’t appeal MR v Dreyfus to the Supreme Court and risk and the right of people with disabilities to live in the community!”
  • Then get as many people to call as possible!

2. Listen to the announcement! 

Today, October 22, starting at 4:00 p.m. Pacific (5:00 p.m. Mountain / 6:00 p.m. Central / 7:00 p.m. Eastern), the State of Washington will be making a formal announcement about whether they are appealing MR v Dreyfus to the Supreme Court.

To listen to the announcement, dial 559-726-1200 (toll-free) and enter the code: 137820.

The last time Washington State held a stakeholder conference call, they changed the code at the last minute.  Follow ADAPT on Facebook to get the latest updates.

Speak Your Mind

*