the advocacy monitor

Independent Living News & Policy from the National Council on Independent Living

Urgent CRPD Call-In Day Today!

CRPD Supporters at the 2011 NCIL RallySource: Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund and U.S. International Council on Disabilities

Update

Last week’s warm reception in the Senate Foreign Relations Committee was good for us, but it provoked a storm of calls from the opposition, led by the Homeschool Legal Defense Association and Rick Santorum. Rick Santorum has a large following. He’s using Twitter, Facebook and his substantial email list to provoke opposition and it is working. We need to raise our voices in determined response!

Message

Identify yourself and your connection to disability (person with a disability, parent of a child with a disability, etc.), then tell your Senator “I support ratification of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities and as your constituent I request that you support the CRPD at the Committee meeting on July 19. Please vote in favor of the treaty in Committee, and move it forward to a floor vote in the Senate!”  

Contact

Chairman: Senator John Kerry (D-MA; Supports CRPD)

(202) 224-4651

Chief Counsel: Andrew Keller

Email: andrew_keller@foreign.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Ranking Member: Senator Richard Lugar (R-IN)

(202) 224-6797

Chief Counsel: Michael Mattler

Email: michael_mattler@foreign.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Senator John Barrasso (R-WY; CRPD Cosponsor)

(202) 224-6441

Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Amber Bland

Email: amber_bland@barrasso.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA)

(202) 224-3553

Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Ann Norris

Email: ann_norris@boxer.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Senator Ben Cardin (D-MD; Supports CRPD)

(202) 224-4524

Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Katharine Beamer

Email: katharine_beamer@cardin.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Senator Bob Casey, Jr. (D-PA)

(202) 224-6324

Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Damian Murphy

Email: damian_murphy@casey.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Senator Chris Coons (D-DE; CRPD Cosponsor)

(202) 224-5042

Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Halie Soifer

Email: halie_soifer@coons.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Senator Bob Corker (R-TN)

(202) 224-3344

Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Stacie Oliver

Email: stacie_oliver@corker.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Senator Jim DeMint (R-SC)

(202) 224-6121

Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Lydia Morgan

Email: lydia_morgan@demint.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL; CRPD Cosponsor)

(202) 224-2152

Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Chris Homan

Email: chris_homan@durbin.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Senator Jim Inhofe (R-OK)

(202) 224-4721

Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Joel Starr

Email: joel_starr@inhofe.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Senator Johnny Isakson (R-GA)

(202) 224-3643

Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Chris Sullivan

Email: chris_sullivan@isakson.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Senator Mike Lee (R-UT)

(202) 224-5444

Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Miriam Harmer

Email: miriam_harmer@lee.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Senator Bob Menendez (D-NJ)

(202) 224-4744

Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Jodi Herman

Email: jodi_herman@menendez.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL)

(202) 224-3041

Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Victor Cervino

Email: victor_cervino@rubio.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Senator Jim Risch (R-ID)

(202) 224-2752

Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Chris Socha

Email: chris_socha@risch.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH; Supports CRPD)

(202) 224-2841

Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Chad Kreikmeier

Email: chad_kreikemeier@shaheen.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Senator Tom Udall (D-NM; CRPD Cosponsor)

(202) 224-6621

Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Matt Padilla

Email: matthew_padilla@tomudall.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Senator Jim Webb (D-VA; Supports CRPD)

(202) 224-4024

Foreign Relations Legislative Aide: Marta Ross

Email: marta_mclellanross@webb.senate.gov

Contact form

 

Speak Your Mind

*